Solr Deployment Backups - SearchStax


Overview

Users of SearchStax® can back up their deployments manually or on a repeating schedule.

Each backup event costs $1.00. Each gigabyte of storage costs another $0.50. There is no additional fee for restoring a backup.

Contents of this page:

Backup Page

To create a backup manually, open the SearchStax dashboard and navigate to the details page of the desired deployment. On the deployment details page, click Backups in the menu bar.

SearchStax Nav Menu

Manual Backup

To perform a manual backup, click the One-time Backup button at the top of the page. This opens a confirmation dialog:

SearchStax Backup Confirmation

Click the Backup button to launch an immediate backup event. You may have to refresh the page to see that the backup has finished.

Scheduled Backup

To schedule a recurring backup, click the Add Schedule button. This opens the Schedule Backup dialog.

SearchStax Scheduled Backup

A typical backup schedule might say, "On weekdays, beginning at 3 a.m. UTC, make a backup every six hours." That schedule would create backup files at 3 a.m., 9 a.m., 3 p.m., and 9 p.m. UTC.

Delete a Schedule

Active schedules are listed on the Backup page. Each schedule has an X button on the right. Click this button to delete the schedule.

When you delete a schedule, you have the opportunity to delete or to retain its existing backups.

Delete a Backup

Manual (one-time) backups are retained until deleted by the user.

Scheduled backups are deleted automatically when the retention limit is exceeded. From that point forward, each time the system creates a new backup, it deletes the oldest backup from that set.

Restore a Backup

To restore a backup, select it from the list of available backups and click the Restore button in the upper right.

SearchStax Backup Restore

You may create a backup in one deployment and restore it to another deployment, subject to these limitations:

The restoration process will automatically compensate for different numbers of nodes/replicas.

SearchStax Backup Restore

Warning: All collections will be restored!

Note that restoration occurs at the level of the deployment, meaning that all collections will revert to the date of the backup. Collections that are newer than the backup will disappear.

Questions?

Don't hesitate to contact the SearchStax Support Desk.