Can I suspend a deployment while I'm on vacation?
SearchStax clients sometimes inquire about putting a deployment into an inactive state temporarily. They usually want to avoid being charged for days when the deployment will not be used.
SearchStax billing is calculated on a daily basis. You are charged for the number of days that the deployment was available during the month.
To avoid being charged during an inactive period, simply (1) delete the deployment before you leave, and (2) create a new deployment when you get back. Reload the configuration files and data. You will not be billed for the time you were away.
For premium customers (gold, platinum, and platinum-plus), we can take a backup before you delete the deployment. When you return, we can restore that backup on a new deployment.
We love to answer questions!
Please contact the SearchStax Support Desk immediately if you have any question about Solr Cloud deployments.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions.